Board of Visitors

Thomas M. Davis, Rector, BA, Amherst College; JD, University of Virginia Law School; Vienna, Va.

James W. Hazel, Vice Rector, JD, George Mason University School of Law; Charlottesville, Va.

Shawn Purvis, Secretary, MS, George Mason University; Manassas, Va.

Karen Alcalde, BS, George Mason University; JD, George Mason University School of Law; Arlington, Va.

Horace Blackman, BA, George Mason University; MBA, University of Virginia: Falls Church, Va.

Anjan Chimaladinne, MS, George Mason University; South Riding, Va.

Stephen M. Cumbie, MBA, University of North Carolina; McLean, Va.

Wendy Marquez, BA, University of Maryland; McLean, Va.

Ignacia S. Moreno, JD, New York University School of Law; McLean, Va.

David Petersen, BA, Grinnell College; Vienna, Va.

Nancy Gibson Prowitt, BA, DePauw University; Arlington, Va.

Paul J. Reagan, JD, George Mason University School of Law, Springfield, Va.

Edward H. Rice, MS, The American University, Vienna, Va.

Denise Turner Roth, BS, George Mason University; Greensboro, NC.

Bob Witeck, BA, University of Virginia; Arlington, Va.

Lisa Zuccari, BIS, George Mason University; McLean, Va.

Keith Renshaw (faculty representative), PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Fairfax, Va. 

Rebekah Pettine (undergraduate student representative), working on double major in Government and International Politics and Communication; Fairfax, Va.

Rebecca Keatinge, (graduate student representative), working on MA in Strategic Communication; Fairfax, Va.

This list reflects appointments as of July 2018.


University President: Ángel Cabrera, PhD

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs: S. David Wu, PhD

Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance: Carol Dillon Kissal, MBA

Chief of Staff and Vice President for Communications and Marketing: Frank Neville, MBA

Vice Presidents

Vice President for Academic Innovation and New Ventures: Michelle Marks, PhD

Vice President for Compliance, Diversity and Ethics: Julian R. Williams, JD

Vice President for Enrollment Management: David Burge, MA

Vice President for Facilities: Frank Strike, MS

Vice President for Government and Community Relations: Paul J. Liberty, BA

Vice President for Information Technology: Marilyn Smith, MBA

Vice President for Research: Deborah Crawford, PhD

Vice President for University Advancement and Alumni Relations: Trishana Bowden, BS

Vice President for University Life: Rose Pascarell, MA

Assistant Vice President and Director of Intercollegiate Athletics: Brad Edwards, MBA​

Deans and Directors

Dean, College of Education and Human Development: Mark Ginsberg, PhD

Dean, College of Health and Human Services: Germaine Louis, PhD

Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences: Ann Ardis, PhD

Dean, College of Science: Peggy Agouris, PhD

Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts: Richard A. Davis, DFA

Dean, George Mason University Korea: Robert Matz, PhD

Dean, Honors College: Zofia Burr, PhD

Dean, School of Business: Maury Peiperl, PhD

Dean, School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution: Kevin Avruch, PhD

Dean, Antonin Scalia Law School: Henry Butler, JD

Dean, Schar School of Policy and Government: Mark Rozell, PhD

Dean, Volgenau School of Engineering:  Kenneth S. Ball, PhD

Office of the Provost - Academic Affairs

Associate Provost for Academic Administration: Renate Guilford, MA

Associate Provost for Academic Initiatives and Services: Janette Kenner Muir, PhD

Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs and Development: Kimberly Eby, PhD

Associate Provost for Institutional Research and Assessment: Gesele Durham, PhD

Associate Provost for Sustainable Earth: Cody Edwards, PhD

Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education: Bethany M. Usher, PhD

University Registrar: Janette Kenner Muir, PhD (interim)

University Libraries

University Librarian: John Zenelis, MLS, MA